Comic will update once a week starting August 1 until 2024.

The Books of Namesake

There are quite a number of stories, from fairy tales to general literature, that feature in Namesake. For those curious about the public-domain works we feature, and want to read them for yourselves, we offer the following links for you to read these stories online and via the Amazon Kindle or Barnes and Noble Nook.

The Wizard of Oz
L. Frank Baum published his first story featuring Oz in May 1900. The success of the first book spawned an early 20th century multimedia franchise featuring musicals, games, a plethora of stories and eventually movies. Eventually, 40 “canon” novels were produced, the first 19 written by Baum. Namesake draws its background from the first six of these novels, listed below.


The Wonderful Wizard of Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
The Marvelous Land of Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
Ozma of Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
The Road to Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
The Emerald City of Oz: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland/
Through the Looking Glass
The Rev. Charles Dodgson, better known as Lewis Carroll, started writing his fantasy stories at the request of young Alice Liddell in 1862. Dodgson had forged a strong friendship with the Liddell children, but an incident in June 1863 causes Dodgson and the Liddells to go their separate ways. However, Dodgson completed his handwritten manuscript and presented it to Alice Liddell as a gift in 1864. The book was published the next year. It was popular enough to garner a sequel in 1871. The relationship between Dodgson and Liddell forms one of the core back stories in Namesake. The modern Alice is also Namesake to Wonderland.


Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland: Project Gutenberg | Kindle | Nook
Through the Looking Glass: Project Gutenberg| Kindle | Nook

Con Schedule

Dragon Con
September 2-5, 2023
Atlanta, Georgia, USA